Movies: Oscar Nominations Are In, But Who Was Left Out?

Oscar award winner Mo’Nique helped announce the nominees for the 83rd Academy Awards earlier this morning. Leading the pack with 12 nominations is The King’s Speech, True Grit has 10 nods, and both Inception and The Social Network, with Justin Timberlake, has a total of 8. Black Swan, The Fighter (with Mark Wahlberg), and Toy Story 3 are also up for some awards.

Notably absent from the list are any African American (or minority, for that matter) movies or actors. The entire cast of Tyler Perry‘s For Colored Girls was left out. Halle Berry, though she was nominated for a Golden Globe for her performance in Frankie and Alice, also didn’t get a nomination. And even though Kathryn Bigelow took home the director’s award for Hurt Locker in 2010, there were no female directors nominated this year. Do you think this is an intentional snub or were there just not any worthy female directed or black movies out last year? Take a look at a few of the nominees below.

Best Picture
Black Swan
The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The King’s Speech
127 Hours
The Social Network
Toy Story 3
True Grit
Winter’s Bone

Best Actor
Javier Bardem, “Biutiful”
Jeff Bridges, “True Grit”
Jesse Eisenberg, “The Social Network”
Colin Firth, “The King’s Speech”
James Franco, “127 Hours”

Best Actress
Annette Bening, “The Kids Are All Right”
Nicole Kidman, “Rabbit Hole”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone”
Natalie Portman, “Black Swan”
Michelle Williams, “Blue Valentine”

Best Supporting Actor
Christian Bale, “The Fighter”
John Hawkes, “Winter’s Bone”
Jeremy Renner, “The Town”
Mark Ruffalo, “The Kids Are All Right”
Geoffrey Rush, “The King’s Speech”

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, “The Fighter”
Helena Bonham Carter, “The King’s Speech”
Melissa Leo, “The Fighter”
Hailee Steinfeld, “True Grit”
Jacki Weaver, “Animal Kingdom”

Darren Aronofsky, “Black Swan”
David O. Russell, “The Fighter”
Tom Hooper, “The King’s Speech”
David Fincher, “The Social Network”
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, “True Grit”

See the rest of the nominees list here.


Comments are closed